This is the "Home" page of the "Women's History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Oct 6, 2016 URL: http://cefls.libguides.com/WomensHistory Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Our Shared Shelf

"Our Shared Shelf is a Feminist book club, founded by UN Women Goodwill Ambassador Emma Watson. All are welcome!"

Our Shared Shelf, with a collection of over 1,000 book suggestions related to women, feminism, and women's history, is a fantastic place to look for your next book to read. They also select specific titles for book discussions through Goodreads.

 

Amazing Women in History

Amazing Women In History - A website dedicated to informing you about all the women that the history books left out.

Katharine Dexter McCormick "Katharine Dexter McCormick is a name that every woman today should know, because your life would probably be very different today if it wasn’t for her. Katharine funded what The New York Times called the “most sweeping sociomedical revolution in history. . . [whose] impact on the United States and other nations [is] almost too vast to analyze.” She was responsible for funding the reseach that discovered the birth control pill...."
Continue reading here.
Wilma Rudolph "Wilma Rudolph (1940–1994) was considered the fastest woman in the world in the ‘60s, and the first American woman to win three gold medals in track & field in the 1960 Olympics."
Continue reading here.
Margaret Hamilton "Nearly fifty years ago, history was made when Neil Armstrong took his famous first small step on the surface of the moon. But, as they say, behind every great man is a woman, and for Armstrong that woman was Margaret Hamilton, the programmer who invented the software that made the moon landing possible, not to mention software itself."
Continue reading here.
 

Share

 

Woman Suffrage Way Bicycle Loop

Links

  • Gale - Gender Studies Collection
    This collection of journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and more.
  • Gale - Gender Studies Collection (outside NY)
    This collection of journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and more.
  • Goodreads - Our Shared Shelf
    Our Shared Shelf is a Feminist book club, founded by UN Women Goodwill Ambassador Emma Watson. All are welcome!
  • HeForShe
    HeForShe is inviting people around the world to stand together to create a bold, visible force for gender equality. And it starts by taking action right now to create a gender equal world.
  • Indiana University - The Victorian Women Writers Project
    The Victorian Women Writers Project (VWWP) began in 1995 at Indiana University and is primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century.
  • National Organization for Women
    As the grassroots arm of the women’s movement, the National Organization for Women is dedicated to its multi-issue and multi-strategy approach to women’s rights. NOW is the largest organization of feminist activists in the United States, with hundreds of thousands of contributing members and more than 500 local and campus affiliates in all 50 states and the District of Columbia.
  • National Women's History Project
    The National Women’s History Project recognizes and celebrates the diverse and historic accomplishments of women by providing informational services and educational and promotional materials.
  • An Oxford guide to women’s history: quiz
    In the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography you’ll currently find biographies of 6340 women who’ve shaped British history and culture between the 1st and 21st century — making it one of the most extensive accounts of women’s contribution to national life.
  • UN Women
    In July 2010, the United Nations General Assembly created UN Women, the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip