This is the "Home" page of the "Genealogy Resources for Northeastern New York" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Genealogy Resources for Northeastern New York   Tags: archives, clinton county, essex county, family, franklin county, genealogical, genealogy, history, new york  

Last Updated: Apr 20, 2017 URL: http://cefls.libguides.com/genealogy Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Genealogy

Did We Miss Anything?

Have you found a good resource we didn't include? Please let us know!

Websites to Get You Started

Local Community Resources for Genealogy

Here are some regional web resources and organizations with information helpful to genealogists.

At Your Library - Databases for Research

Heritage Quest logo

If you are a patron of either the Plattsburgh or Malone library, you are able to access the Heritage Quest database from home using your library card! Visitors to those libraries may also receive guest privileges to use this database.  To access from home with a Plattsburgh library card, visit http://www.plattsburghlib.org/resources.html  and scroll down to "Database, Genealogy."  To access from home with a Malone library card, visit http://www.cefls.org/malone.htm.

      
     

    Build Your Family Tree (Free!) at Familysearch.org

    Familysearch.org Logo

    Genealogy can be an expensive hobby, with software to buy, subscriptions to expensive research tools, and even travel. However, there is a way to create, research and save your family tree, complete with photos, recordings and stories, all for no cost.

    The Familysearch.org website, operated by the Church of Latter Day Saints, provides tools to enter the information you know, and find ancestors you didn't know about.  There are millions of historical records from over 200 countries available online through the site. New records are constantly added. For example, in April 2017,  FamilySearch published over 3.3 million French Census records from 1876 to 1906.

    The site contains lots of help, and there are even volunteers that provide free research help over the phone!

     

    Ebooks to Download

    You can download this ebook for free with your library card and read it on your computer, smartphone, tablet or e-reader.

    Cover Art
    Discover your family history online
    ISBN: 9781440318542
    A Step-by-Step Guide to Starting Your Genealogy Search

    History of Clinton and Franklin Counties, NY - D. H. Hurd
    Publication Date: 1880
    A free Google Book

     

    How-To Books from Local Libraries on Genealogy

    Here are some good introductions to genealogy in the collections of public libraries around the area. Request these titles  with your library card to be delivered to your home library, or visit the libraries that own them to check them out.  Click on a title to see where you can find a copy.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip