This page highlights resources that can help you live more sustainably: every day you can make choices that reduce your impact on the environment.
Heat Pumps for the Home by
In recent years, heat pumps have emerged as a promising new form of technology with a relatively low environmental impact. Moreover, they have presented householders with an opportunity to reduce their heating bills. Heat pumps can heat a building by 'pumping' heat from either the ground or the air outside: an intriguing process which utilizes principles that are somewhat analogous to those employed in the domestic refrigerator. Armed with the practical information contained in these pages, homeowners will have the necessary knowledge to take advantage of this potentially low-carbon technology to heat their properties. Now in an updated new edition, Heat Pumps for the Home describes what a heat pump is, how it works, the different methods of pumping heat and the importance of an appropriate and well-planned installation. It also provides you with the information that you need in order to make up your own mind about whether a heat pump might be appropriate to your own circumstances, and also demonstrates what you need to do to in order to make the system work efficiently.
Install Your Own Solar Panels by
This fully illustrated step-by-step guide provides the essential advice you need to successfully install your own solar array. And by doing it yourself, you'll recoup your initial investment faster than ever. Solar professional Joseph Burdick and veteran builder Philip Schmidt take you all the way from assessing your site, designing your system, and getting a permit to shopping for parts and installing the modules. You'll use the same thorough process that the pros do, find answers to all your questions, and set up a complete system for a fraction of the cost.
Live in a Home That Pays You Back by
Whether you are planning to build, buy, or retrofit a home, this illuminating book takes you on a virtual tour of the home of the future. Award-winning author and respected housing expert Anna DeSimone lights the way for enjoying a home that is healthier, more comfortable, saves money, and reduces your carbon footprint.
The Renewable Energy Home Handbook by
Most renewable energy systems aren't new, but their use is. This handbook shows how each of the main renewable energy technologies works, along with step-by-step details of how it's installed, as well as the pros and - at least as importantly - the cons of each type of installation.
The Conscious Closet by
With her landmark investigation Overdressed, Elizabeth Cline was the first to reveal fast fashion's hidden toll on garment workers, the environment, and even our own satisfaction with our clothes. The Conscious Closet shows exactly what we can do about it. Based on her personal experiences getting off the fast-fashion treadmill and figuring out a common-sense, affordable approach to style, Elizabeth shares how to pare down your closet; swap, resell, or recycle what you don't love; care for and repair what you do; and how to affordably buy, thrift, or rent the ethical wardrobe of your dreams.
Fashion Upcycling by
Save your wallet and the planet by repurposing older clothes and secondhand finds into fashionable new looks! In Fashion Upcycling, popular TikTok designer and Project Runway Junior contestant Ysabel Hilado shares her secrets for reinventing old clothing into dazzling new outfits. With several do-it-yourself, beginner-friendly projects and genius tips and tricks, you'll learn to express yourself and reinvent your closet in all-new ways. From dyeing faded clothes to easy ways to repurpose denim, there's a project for everyone.
How to Sew Sustainably by
A technique-led guide to creating clothes and homeware, using fabric scraps from other projects, discarded home textiles and used clothing.
Make, Sew and Mend by
Learn the Historically Proven Stitches Every Seamster Needs with Beloved Historical Fashion YouTuber Bernadette Banner Whether you are just getting started with sustainable fashion and need to alter your new secondhand finds, or you want an introduction to sewing techniques for making your own clothes, Bernadette Banner's signature voice will guide you through all the traditional stitches and techniques you need to extend the life of your favorite pieces and take fashion intoyour own hands!From tips and tricks on choosing your materials and preparing your fabric for sewing to more complex techniques like mending small holes, adding pockets to garments, making your own buttons and beyond - this book has everything you need. Complete with step-by-step photos and insight into what alterations each sewing technique is best suited for, Bernadette walks you through every step of your sewing journey. For added inspiration, this book also includes profiles on exciting voices in the historic sewing community and their perspectives on how taking fashion into their own hands has changed their lives for the better. Make, Sew and Mend is the perfect foundation for beginner sewers to start making their fashion their own
Make Thrift Mend by
An award-winning artist and writer working across disciplines to explore environmental and social issues through craft techniques teaches readers how to mend, patch, dye, and alter clothing for an environmentally conscious, reimagined wardrobe.
Mending Life by
Mending Life, a beautiful modern sewing and mending guide with vibrant, full-color illustrations woven throughout, encourages us to break free from the fast fashion industry by repairing our clothes rather than discarding them. Along with DIY and how-to illustrations and tutorials, you'll find heartfelt stories by authors Nina and Sonya Montenegro (creators of the popular @TheFarWoods) that encourage you to change your consumption habits, celebrate a sustainable, intentional lifestyle, demonstrate mending as a powerful act that not only strengthens the object we are repairing, but ourselves as well.
Mending with Love by
This book shows you how to apply embroidery, patching, darning, felting, stamping, and a little crochet to worn pieces of clothing or household items. Instead of stowing or throwing away damaged pieces that hold happy memories, you can employ these sustainable ideas to give them a new life. With this book, you'll learn how to repair knitted and woven fabrics; work with flat and curved surfaces; repair comfy, well-made socks and gloves; make a statement with creative patching; fill in holes with roving using felting techniques; use embroidery to visibly mend frays or damage from the odd cat claw; apply other tips and techniques to torn, worn, or stained favorites.
Mend It, Wear It, Love It! by
Have you ever thrown good clothes away simply because you didn't know how to mend them? Have you got clothes that you can't bear to part with, but need a fresher look? Then this book is for you. With fast fixes and complete makeovers, Mend It, Wear It, Love It! has everything you need to mend and care for your clothes, and stitch your way to a more sustainable wardrobe.
Sew Eco Friendly by
This book will help you to make 25 small but meaningful life swaps to help reduce waste. For example, trade in your disposable face wipes and replace them with washable pads; make beeswax fabric wraps and elasticated covers so that you never have to buysingle-use plastic food wrap again; make a sturdy shopping tote to replace single-use plastic versions. Packed with all the easy-to-follow instructions and friendly sewing tips you expect from Debbie Shore, this book also contains hints and tips for face scrubs, bath salts and more to use with your new projects, or to make a perfect eco-friendly gift
Go Gently by
Go Gently is a guide for sustainability at home that offers simple, tangible steps toward reducing our environmental impact by looking at what we consume and the waste we create, as well as how to take action for environmental change. The title reflects Bonnie Wright's belief that the best way to change our planet and ourselves is through a gentle approach, rather than a judgmental one. This is a book of do's rather than don'ts. It's also an invitation to Wright's followers to join her on this journey to sustainability.
Going through every room in her home, Wright helps us assess which products are sustainable, and alternatives for those that are not. She shares recipes to avoid waste, homemade self-care products to avoid packaging, small space-friendly gardening ideas, and a template for creating your own compost system. Finally, to sustain yourself, there are exercises and meditation prompts to keep you energized, plus info on how to get involved in community and organizations.
Green Living Made Easy by
We all want to do our best for our homes and the planet, but it's often hard to find the time and energy to think of alternatives. This practical book from Sunday Times bestselling author and Great British Bake Off winner Nancy Birtwhistle is the ultimate guide to reducing your environmental impact while saving you time and money. Inside are tips and home hacks on everything from eco cleaning, upcycling, and making the most out of your weekly shop to small-space gardening and creative crafts, plus a selection of Nancy's delicious recipes. Green Living Made Easy is an accessible and clearly explained guide, beautifully illustrated with black and white line-drawings and perfect for anyone looking to pursue a more sustainable lifestyle but unsure where to start
Imagine It! by
The most accessible and actionable handbook for those looking for concrete steps to begin living more sustainably, from climate activists Laurie David and Heather Reisman.
Inconspicuous Consumption by
From a former New York Times science writer, this urgent call to action will empower you to stand up to climate change and environmental pollution by making simple but impactful everyday choices.
With urgency and wit, Tatiana Schlossberg explains that far from being only a distant problem of the natural world created by the fossil fuel industry, climate change is all around us, all the time, lurking everywhere in our convenience-driven society, all without our realizing it.
By examining the unseen and unconscious environmental impacts in four areas-the Internet and technology, food, fashion, and fuel - Schlossberg helps readers better understand why climate change is such a complicated issue, and how it connects all of us: How streaming a movie on Netflix in New York burns coal in Virginia; how eating a hamburger in California might contribute to pollution in the Gulf of Mexico; how buying an inexpensive cashmere sweater in Chicago expands the Mongolian desert; how destroying forests from North Carolina is necessary to generate electricity in England.
Cataloging the complexities and frustrations of our carbon-intensive society with a dry sense of humor, Schlossberg makes the climate crisis and its solutions interesting and relevant to everyone who cares, even a little, about the planet. She empowers readers to think about their stuff and the environment in a new way, helping them make more informed choices when it comes to the future of our world.
Most importantly, this is a book about the power we have as voters and consumers to make sure that the fight against climate change includes all of us and all of our stuff, not just industry groups and politicians. If we have any hope of solving the problem, we all have to do it together.
The Joy of Less: a Minimalist Guide to Declutter, Organize, and Simplify - Updated and Revised by 
A Zero Waste Life by
Anita Vandyke wants to show you that by living a zero waste life, you actually gain more - more time, more money and more life. Her simple, practical guide shows you how by changing your daily habits you can eliminate plastic from your life in thirty days. These are the inside tips of a waste warrior, whose life has changed from excess to eco-luxe. A Zero Waste Life is a guide to the small changes you can make to radically reduce your waste, without losing your lifestyle. Based on 30 lifestyle 'rules' and handy tips, this practical book offers a fresh 'can do' approach to reducing your waste and living a cleaner, kinder life. Isn't that what we all want - a life of happiness, a life of luxury, a life that isn't wasted?
How to Give up Plastic by
An accessible guide to the changes we can all make--small and large--to rid our lives of disposable plastic and clean up the world's oceans. It takes 450 years for a plastic bottle to fully biodegrade, and there are around 12.7 million tons of plastic entering the ocean each year. At our current pace, in the year 2050 there could be more plastic in the oceans than fish, by weight. These are alarming figures, but plastic pollution is an environmental crisis with a solution we can all contribute to. How to Give Up Plastic is a straightforward guide to eliminating plastic from your life. Going room by room through your home and workplace, Greenpeace activist Will McCallum teaches you how to spot disposable plastic items and find plastic-free, sustainable alternatives to each one. From carrying a reusable straw, to catching microfibers when you wash your clothes, to throwing plastic-free parties, you'll learn new and intuitive ways to reduce plastic waste. And by arming you with a wealth of facts about global plastic consumption and anecdotes from activists fighting plastic around the world, you'll also learn how to advocate to businesses and leaders in your community and across the country to commit to eliminating disposable plastics for good.
The Complete Compost Gardening Guide by
Develop mature compost right in your garden. Barbara Pleasant and Deborah Martin explain their six-way compost gardening system in this informative guide that will have you rethinking how you create and use your compost. With your plants and compost living together from the beginning, your garden will become a nourishing and organic environment that encourages growth and sustainability. You'll also find that the enriched soil requires less tending, weeding, and mulching, so you can do less back-breaking work for the same lush, beautiful results.
Food Fix by 
How to Start a Worm Bin by
Do you want to learn how to turn food scraps into valuable compost? Do you believe in taking responsibility for the waste we create? People all over the world are turning their food scraps into nutrient-rich worm compost through starting their own worm bin. This book contains everything you need to get started worm composting in one easy-to-read book. Topics include what type of worms to buy, how to construct a bin, maintain the right environment, and how to foster a thriving worm herd. The author demonstrates that worm composting is a year-round activity that is easy, fast, convenient, good for the earth and good for your plants.
Nature's Best Hope by
Douglas W. Tallamy's first book, Bringing Nature Home, awakened thousands of readers to an urgent situation: wildlife populations are in decline because the native plants they depend on are fast disappearing. His solution? Plant more natives. In this new book, Tallamy takes the next step and outlines his vision for a grassroots approach to conservation. Nature's Best Hope shows how homeowners everywhere can turn their yards into conservation corridors that provide wildlife habitats. Because this approach relies on the initiatives of private individuals, it is immune from the whims of government policy. Even more important, it's practical, effective, and easy--you will walk away with specific suggestions you can incorporate into your own yard.
If you're concerned about doing something good for the environment, Nature's Best Hope is the blueprint you need. By acting now, you can help preserve our precious wildlife--and the planet--for future generations
Our Little Farm by
Called "a veritable tree whisperer" by the Wall Street Journal, Peter Wohlleben is known across the world for his illuminating books about forests and how to help them thrive. Now, the German forester invites readers into his home for the first time in Our Little Farm, describing the steps he and his wife, Miriam, have taken to live sustainably and in harmony with nature.
Peter and Miriam moved from the city to a remote forest lodge in the early nineties. Amidst juggling careers and raising a young family, they learned how to plant and rotate crops, harvest and preserve nature's bounty, and tend to the unique needs of their animals and environment. Along the way, they made mistakes and abandoned some projects (sheep raising was not their thing) but maintained a sense of joy in their shared goal.
Brimming with insights, wisdom, and tips on everything from constructing farm buildings to choosing the perfect chicken, Our Little Farm shows that, with a little grit, humor, and self-compassion, it's possible to live according to our values and to care for the earth even as we care for ourselves, our homes, and our families.
Perfectly Good Food by
You're standing in front of your refrigerator, a week after your last trip to the supermarket. You've got a bunch of random veggies, some wrinkly fruit, near-expired milk, and those pricey fresh herbs you bought for that one recipe and don't know how touse up. For a split second you picture yourself opening a trash bag, throwing everything away, and ordering takeout. We've all been there. But instead...you pick up this cookbook. In no time you've prepared a Make-It-Your-Own Stir-Fry and How-You-Like-ItSavory Pancakes, plus a Mix-and-Match Fruit Galette that you'll have for dessert. Time to celebrate-you're saving food, shrinking that grocery bill, and learning some key skills for making the most of what you have. It's exciting to be able to create newdishes and waste less food, and most importantly-a delicious dinner is on the table! Written by the chef-sisters behind Boston's acclaimed Mei Mei Dumplings, this cookbook/field guide is a crucial resource for the thrifty chef, the environmentally mindful cook, and anyone looking to make the most of their ingredients
PlantYou: Scrappy Cooking by
PlantYou laid the foundation for eating a healthy and simple whole foods, plant based diet. PlantYou Scrappy Cooking takes this one step further. As people are looking more and more to reducing meat consumption as a way to curb environmental impact, the need for easy, delicious recipes only grows. Add to that equation Carleigh Bodrug's emphasis on reducing food waste, and you have the recipe for a delicious and ridiculously easy way to make tater tots from broccoli stalks, turn banana peels into plant based bacon, and use every bit of your food for amazing meals. With sections on how to stop wasting food (and money), outfitting your kitchen, as well as "Got This? Make That!" pantry sweeps and Kitchen Raid recipes (where you can cross-reference just about any vegetable, grain or bean going bad in your fridge or pantry and find a recipe to use it in), Scrappy Cooking is a go-to for anyone who wants to eat the diet that's healthiest for you, your wallet, the animals, and the planet
The Sustainable Homestead by
Live the dream and make the most of your land by working with it, not against it. From capturing water and building strong soil to helping your animals live their best lives, this book is all about making your homestead stronger by achieving synergy between its different parts.
Worms Eat My Garbage by
An illustrated guide to creating a small-scale worm composting system includes coverage of worm species, reproduction, feeding, and harvesting.
You Can Cook This! by
A social media star chef teaches how to harness the power of plants through simple and flavorful recipes that help fight food waste, providing practical ideas for using up the whole vegetable, transforming leftovers, and storing food to maximize freshness.
Folded Book Art by
The author shows you how to cut and glue splendid scenes such as delicate paper mushrooms and ferns, a fairytale castle, and winter reindeer, all of which would make great gifts, or just keep and display yourself! Learn to make greeting cards, a botanical print lampshade, hanging birds and more.
Upcycling Furniture and Home Decor for Dummies by
Upcycling Furniture For Dummies shows you how to revitalize old furniture, with just a little effort and imagination, and maybe a few coats of fresh paint. Upcycling furniture is affordable, good for the environment, and a whole lot of fun! This easy, step-by-step guide shows you how to get creative and put your own unique flair on your designs. You'll gain the knowledge and confidence you need to select items that are worth transforming or restoring and learn specific techniques to give old pieces a new lease on life.
